Which powerhead...maybe none???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zimer34

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone-
I'm new to the aquarium world and have been trying to soak in as much information as possible. There has been one piece of equipment so far in my initial buying stage that has somewhat confused me....and that's the powerhead.

I'll give you the info of what I plan to do and then ask my questions:
1) I plan on setting up the tank with 13 types of small tropical tetras (and some bottom feeders like cory catfish and a few wood shrimp).
2) I would like to try live plants and plan on doing that
3) I'll have a mixture of aquarium gravel...larger pieces of quartz/agates and some driftwood.

I just purchased two penguin 350 biowheels for the tank but I'm wondering what I need for a powerhead or if I need one at all?

I've been reading that the biowheels don't excel at bringing up water from the aquarium bottom to be filtered so I was thinking about using a marineland maxijet in circulation mode to aid with this? Is that correct? Or should I plan on using the piece of equipment as a powerhead (which my understanding is used to create oxygen...is that correct)? Or do they both create oxygen? I'm a little lost as far as what my primary objective is with this piece of equipment. More oxygen....or better circulation.....or both?

My other main question is what size of maxijet should I be purchasing now that I have two penguin 350's. Can I have too much flow for my tetras?? I was thinking the the maxijet 600 but if more is always better I'll get the 900 or the 1200. Thanks for your help!!!(y)

Maxi Jet 600
Powerhead Mode
160 gph

Circulation Mode
750 gph

I use bio- wheels on all of my aquariums except one, and I think that they filtrate fine.