why two filters?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kaz

Aquarium Advice Addict
I am noticing alot of the planted tank, have two filters why, isnt just one canister enough?

It extends the time for maintenance on the mechanical filtration part for 1, second is redundancy (like any other tank). My guess, that and finding a single filter capable of handling 100Gal+ with organic waste is somewhat difficult (and often involves a very high flow rate)

Wizzard~Of~Ozz said:
It extends the time for maintenance on the mechanical filtration part for 1, second is redundancy (like any other tank). My guess, that and finding a single filter capable of handling 100Gal+ with organic waste is somewhat difficult (and often involves a very high flow rate)

My thoughts exactly. Being an IT professional, I am enamored of redundancy, and having a 125G planted ARLC tank, I need all the filtration I can get :)

so what the canisters say it can handle up to is a bunch of lies?

kaz said:
so what the canisters say it can handle up to is a bunch of lies?

Think of it this way:

If I was to tell you that I was going to lower you down a cliff by one of two ropes which would you choose?

A rope that is designed to hold exactly your weight?

or

A rope that is designed to hold several times your weight?

Earlier today someone commented that they thought my 75 gallon aquarium most look ridiculous with 3 filters on it when one of mine is rated on the box to be more than enough for my aquarium.

I responded that it did not look ridiculous at all, just really clean. . .

from what I am understanding it is not that the filters can or cannot do the job right, it is more of a wanting to do less maintenance?