I'm going to be getting Cory fish.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pettygil

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I ordered cory fish from Michael's fish room. I'll be getting on the 16th of this month. I have a 20 gallon tank. I ordered 5 Blue spotted cory's, and two Panda Cory's. I am new to taking care of Cory's. so any help would be appreciated. I have 3 red eyed tetra's, and 9 glow in dark tetra's. That's is all I'm buying for my 20 Gallon. So all you Cory's lover's help me out. I love Cory's they are a cool fish. I do know they play dead, and this I know this time around. I could not tell if Cory was dead, or not.:fish2::fish2::fish1::fish1::cool:

Red eye tetras are fin nippers and might go after the Corydoras because they get bored easily and you only have 3 of them. Personally, I would get rid of the red eye tetras.

The glow in the dark tetras could be black widow/ skirt tetras, which are also fin nippers. however, you have 9 of them and that will help keep them occupied.

-----------------

Corydoras do best on sand substrates or small smooth gravel substrates. Take some gravel and rub it against the palm of your hand, if it scratches your skin it is too sharp for the catfish.

Corydoras prefer live and frozen (but defrosted) foods. Most will take bottom feeding pellets. You feed them once a day, usually in the evening an hour or so after the lights have been turned off. Some will come out during the day and eat then, but others prefer to feed at night. Try them during the day and at night and see what happens. But don't over feed them. Any uneaten food should be removed after 5-10 minutes, unless it's live food like daphnia or blackworms, these can stay in the tank until eaten or sucked up by the filter.

Have some plants or driftwood in the tank to provide a shelter during the day.