Newly planted community tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cjsans

Aquarium Advice Regular
My son started my 125 gallon community tank with a substrate of gravel and black sand, then added rock, wood, and many plants. It looks fantastic. I also just bought a book, "Ecology of the Planted Aquarium" by Diana Walstad who says that a gravel/sand bottom is a true setup for failure. She recommends potting soil on the bottom with a shallow layer of gravel on top.

I don't want to tear this whole tank down again and start all over. I've never worked with soil in my tank before. I'm old school. I never even heard of using soil before. I love the idea of how it cuts back on needed water changes and helps maintain proper water levels by using thriving plants in a well planted tank to keep nitrite levels down and use the uneaten fish food to fertilize the plants. Just a perfect little independent Eco system.
What does everyone else use? Boy, do I feel dumb. :blink:

:thanks:for your input.

Last edited by a moderator:
you can see my tank in my album, i use nothing but gravel and all my plants are doing great, i also use root tabs (they go in the gravel for the root feeders) and i dose dry ferts with pressurized Co2. A soil substrate is not needed. Plus that soil will not last forever and need to be replaced anyways, most people with soil end up using root tabs regardless because they dont want to have to replace all that soil.

OK, where do I get all this. I tried Goggling, but no specific source showed up. I doubt Pet Smart carries this. Plus, I have no knowledge base to know what to ask for from them, or anyone else for that matter. I have well water, so it's hard. I don't want to use the wrong minerals. I don't want to use too much and have an algae outbreak either.