Tank finally cycled

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

smaddox

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Newbie here, who learned the hard way about "cycling". Our local pet supermarket really didn't provide us with all the info we needed to truly be successful. I got the tank for my 6 y/o and we've had to go through losing several fish...finally i think we are fully cycled now.

I understand the cycle process NOW, but sure would have been helpful to know up front. However, my question is this: Why is having a fully cycled tank important? Does this mean less frequent water changes and/or gravel vacuuming?

Also, I've been reading all over the internet about "live plants" and how they help with the nitrification process. Right now, we have all fake plants. Should I consider a live plant or moss ball?

We have a 10 gallon tank, 1 black Mollie (one of our first fish, made it through the whole cycle:)) 1 dalmation mollie, 2 tiger barbs, 1 sword tail, 1 cherry barb, 1 pleco.

Tonight tank showed 0 ammonia, 0 nitrIte, small amount of nitrate...

When your tank is cycling, the ammonia and nitrites can have sudden increases or "spikes". These unstable water conditions are harmful to the fishes health (as youve seen). Some fish can tolerate these changes better than others. Even if a fish survives the cycling process, it may have damage to its gills or organs which will reduce its lifespan. :(

The mollys, platy and swordtail in your tank all have large bio-loads (they poop a lot), so you'll still need to do frequent water changes. I think pleco's have a larger bio-load as well.

Speaking of pleco: Do you know what kind it is? Most of those will get quite large and outgrow a 10 gallon tank. I believe there are "dwarf" varieties that stay small though.