Favorite filter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dutchz

Aquarium Advice Freak
As the title states what is everyone's favorite hob filter?

I am new to the hobby, but have a few so here goes:

I like the results of my 2 aquaclear 70's, but the motor is a bit noisy, but not terrible. Media changes and options are great

Also have a penguin and it is quieter and works pretty good. Media iseasy to clean.

My 20 gallon came with a top fin or something generic, works ok for now but it is just a 2nd filter on my tank in case of a breakdown emergency it is ready to go.

I am sure others will have more experience and detail for ya

Aqueons are my favorite. They are self-priming, easy to clean, and have strong water flow due to the motor being submerged in the water. They may not be as customizable as the Aqua Clears, which are sure to get the most votes in this thread, but you can still do what you want to some extent with the Aqueons.

I have an AC70 and it's actually my least favorite HOB among Marinelands, Aqueons, and Fluvals. It always has to be primed after a water change. The media basket does not lock into place on the right side. If I put two sponges, or a sponge and some filter floss it will creep up on the right side and lift the lid off the top of the filter box. When I press it back it down the junk that it sucked up gets pushed into the tank. Also, the intake tube is too short. They make extensions, but the extension brings the intake too close to the sand and the goldfish just kick sand up into the filter and it stops, so I have to take it apart and clean it.

Aqua Clears cost more than other HOB's in general and I just don't think you're getting something as great as people would have you believe.

Yes my favorite has to be aqueon. It's is self priming is what I love but wish it has media like the aqua clears.