New Aquarium Enthusiast; Questions Regarding Trili Cory

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Josie

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey there! Hopefully this is the right place to ask things like this; I'm in a new apartment without a computer, and my iPad is hard to thoroughly search the website with. So please, forgive me for any lines I may cross; I'm not doing it on purpose. :)

My questions are below; I just wanted to give a detailed account of what I'm working with first. This is my first time asking for advice, but I'm constantly searching forums trying to find answers to any questions I have. A lot of dull information follows; the good stuff will be colorful! :flowers:

First off, my tank.:

* Tank: Generic 10 gallon
* Cover: Glass hinge top
* Light: Aqueon Reflector (full spectrum light)
* Filter: AquaClear Power Filter, 5-20 gallons
- Located on side of tank (tank rests against the wall in the back)
- Set to 20 gallons; strong current on one side of tank
* Heater: Top Fin 10 gallon heater
* Plants:
- 4 large silk
- 3 small plastic
- Water Wisteria (2 tall planted stalks already breaking surface, 3 floating)
- ??? Plant (long stalks from the base --tallest breaks the surface-- wide, flat leaves)
* Substrate
- Gravel/Sand blend
* Other Decorations
- 1 small cave
- 1 Buddha statue (bought at LSF; nonmetal; wood?)

I also have 2 5-gallon buckets (one always partially filled with water for the next water change, so it has time to settle after I add Aqueon Water Conditioner), API Leaf Zone plant food, a 1-gallon QT tank on standby, a small water vacuum and an API Master Freshwater Test Kit.

Water Parameters:
- Unknown hardness (dH)
- 78 Degrees (F)

(by date):
- 11/08/12: pH ~7.6 / Ammonia ~.5 / Nitrite X < .25 / Nitrate X < 5.0