filter?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bigdom

Aquarium Advice Regular
Can I change my filter while cycling wit fish... its nasty and not letting the water to flow thru freely?

Sent from my DROIDX using Aquarium

I would just let it ride if you don't have fish. However since you do, if you must due to restricted water flow or a stench, then either dechlorinate tap water or better yet just drain a little tank water and just gently rinse it in the bucket and discard the water. Don't change the filter. It would be detrimental to the cycle. I am a newbie too but from all the research that I have been doing, I am 99.99 percent sure this is a fact. Good luck and stay in touch.

Im cycling with fish... I rinsed it once last week and again today but then it put a lot of deal int the water. I put in a new one and did a pwc

bigdom said:
Can I change my filter while cycling wit fish... its nasty and not letting the water to flow thru freely?

You also search for the thread about cycling with fish.

bigdom said:
Im cycling with fish... I rinsed it once last week and again today but then it put a lot of deal int the water. I put in a new one and did a pwc

Did you rinse it inside the tank? Just use a bucket with a couple of cupss of tank water. Then you can pour it in the yard ar something. I wont change mine unless its falling apart. The filter is where most of the beneficial bacteria live. I would give 20 bucks for someone's old filter right now. I am doing mine fishless and can't get any old filter media or substrate from an established, properly cycled tank.

bigdom said:

I also just bought an AquaClear filter to give me a 2 to 1 filtration ratio. Mine is a 55 gallon and I now as of 10 minutes ago, have 110 gallons of filtration. How big is your tank and what type and capacity do or does the filter(s) have?