Low light planted tank and cycling- will this work?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Alliel

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm looking at setting up a 140L planted tank - it's about 3 feet long.

I have been reading about light and CO2 systems, but I'm not looking to do anything too whiz bang (and also I'm new to this) and I think I may be able to get away without a CO2 system.. and possibly any lighting.. ? I'm not fussed at all by slow growth.

I am happy to stock it with "basic" low light plants in it, and it will be situated on a kitchen bench where it will get SOME natural light. I currently have a 10L betta tank in roughly the same area, with some plants in it which are looking really healthy and good. I'm wary of giving it too much light, and

In terms of fish, I'm not 100% sure but at this stage I'm thinking a sorority of female betta.

So that's one question - is a 140L tank with plants do-able without CO2 and lighting, or should I really sit down and work out how to balance everything? I'm just aware that while to me this seems like a huge tank, it's tiny compared to what many people here have!

The other question is aroudn cycling. I am fish-in cycling my betta tank at the moment and all is going well. I'm happy to do this with the 140L tank also. But how does cycling impact on the plants - is it irrelevant? Tha'ts another reason why I'm hoping I can do no CO2, because if I'm donig water changes etc, it's going to just keep disrupting the balance of nutrients and minerals etc. Should I just cycle the planted tank as normal and let the plants take care of themselves?

Thanks in advance!

Hi Alliel,

Welcome to AA!