Planted tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rockyofhockey

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hi all,
So I'm curious on how to "dirt" a tank so it is better for the plants... Like I need to know all the basics as I've never done a dirted tank before

Rockyofhockey _/.\_

Look up Dustin's Fish Tanks on You Tube. I have never done it but recently have contemplated doing so. I have watched a lot of his videos and he explains how he does it really well.

Look up Dustin's Fish Tanks on You Tube. I have never done it but recently have contemplated doing so. I have watched a lot of his videos and he explains how he does it really well.

I've watched every single video of dustins?? I just wanted to know like step by step

Rockyofhockey _/.\_

Well if you go the Eco complete or floramax route don't think it should be hard, but if you're gonna go with potting soil, I think you add that first and then a nice good compact substrate over it so the gasses from the soil don't build and escape killing your fish. Idk? Lol

Check out my introduction to view my tank!

Well if you go the Eco complete or floramax route don't think it should be hard, but if you're gonna go with potting soil, I think you add that first and then a nice good compact substrate over it so the gasses from the soil don't build and escape killing your fish. Idk? Lol

If I use Eco complete do I still need root tabs for my swords, crypts, ect..

Rockyofhockey _/.\_

I don't believe so since it comes with all the nutritions the plants need, but it wouldn't hurt to put some in I guess, I just put some in a few minutes ago in my floramax one.

I don't believe so since it comes with all the nutritions the plants need, but it wouldn't hurt to put some in I guess, I just put some in a few minutes ago in my floramax one.