New To FW 30Gallon

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HoCkEyGmC

Aquarium Advice Addict
some of you may have read my previous post about my 30 gallon. it once was an awesome community tank in an office at my old house. but ever since it has been run down and an eye sore. so latly my mom has been making me not get anything for my sw tank and i have talked her into letting me fix up the 30 gallon. so now im going into this a total newb to fresh. my plans are to ditch everything but the tank, the stand, the filter, and most of the water. fish in the tank at the moment include a 5" bumble bee cichlid, a 6" trinidad pleco, and an unidentifyed catfish of some sort. im returning the fish to the lfs for credit.
so my new plans for the tank are to go with the hob filter and a ug filter. i dont really know what substrate im going with yet. i know i want driftwood and some slate type rocks. maybe fake plants. i'd only do real plants if they were extreemly low matinence or low matinence. ok now on to fish. dont know too much about fw fish at all. i want to breed some fish though. i have a 16 gal laying around so i think ill use that tank for breeding the fry. anywho back onto the fish, for a list here we go: A pair of GBRs (4 but just till they pair up, then just 2?)
4 guppies (2 males, 2 females?)
1 BN pleco (maybe albino)
3 swordtails (1 male 2 female?)
2 red tailed sharks(male and a female?)
6 neon tetras

sound good? any advise/comments/feedback appreciated!
Thanks in advance!

Everything sounds good to me. For substrate I suggestion Pool Filter sand, looks great in aquariums and only about 5 bucks for a 50lbs bag. Also if you do go with real plants I see you want extremely low matinence plants. Java moss is a good one and since you want to breed would prob save some fry if you don't switch the fish in time to the breeder tank.