10gal tank with fishies, just found this site, cycle/general questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nohika

Aquarium Advice Freak
Okay. So I have a 10gal fish tank, with a filter, heater, thermometer, and...the head lamp thingie. I'm brand new to aquarium-stuff. Basically, I have little idea what I'm doing. Yes, I know, darn them rash 20-year-olds (ie, me).

I have three black skirt tetras in my tank. My Mom has a 29gal tank with similar fish (three black skirts, a little bigger than mine). I don't have any live plants or anything - not really interested in them right now, and neither does my Mom. I figure later down the road when my confidence is a little bigger about this (currently fighting tears about not doing my research online), that it'll be time to proceed to things.

How do I start cycling? Where can I find a master test kit thing? Is the Tetra-safe-water-making stuff okay? Do I have to have a certain kind? My fish have been alive for a couple days now, so obviously the dechlorination was okay...

What can I do better? How? What do I need to start? Where?

I hope to eventually (once cycled?) get an albino bristlenose (bushynose?) pleco, and a handful of either neon or silver tipped tetras. The black skirts might be transferred to my Mom's 29gallon.

Just worried I might've doomed my fishies, and feeling like the worst person ever for trusting what people say... :bawl:

I'm still in the midst of cycling my tank with fish and I haven't lost anyone. Just get yourself an API master test kit and keep on top of your water perameters. (ammonia, nitrite and nitrate, etc) Partial water changes will be the most important thing during your cycling. I've never packed around so much water as I have been with my cycling!! But it's worth the effort for healthy happy fishes!! Good luck!! (y)