150 Gallon Tank, Now What?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Todd

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have a few questions. I am a beginner and apologize for dumb questions. I just purchased a 150 Gallon w/ 2 overflows to go in a wall. What is my next purchase? I plan to have a reef tank with fish. I plan on using a protein skimmer? How much should I spend on a skimmer and how big should the sump be? I would like to know how big the pumps should be and how many do I need? I heard 3, does this sound right?
I also have been talking to my local fish store and although they give good advice, is it the best. I already noticed that depending on who you talk to, you will get a different answer. I have took a liking to an experienced saltwater fish guy which I bought the tank from. He thanked me for the opportunity to assist me on my tank. Told me to come back and he would give me further instructions on my next step. After doing some research and talking to a couple people, I have found better prices on the internet or thru mailorder. Is this the way to go? I am reading more & more on the hobby everyday and I do need the advice. Should I get my stuff elsewhere to save the money or use my local store. I hope you get the gist of what I am saying here. Give me your thoughts.