About to buy my first large tank - Help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hansen

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone. :) I am somewhat new to the world of aquariums. I have successfully had bettas for years, but they were almost always in a bowl and required such little maintenance. A few months ago I bout the Aqueon Evolve 4 gallon tank for my current betta to have a little more room. Since then I have added an african dwarf frog, a few mystery snails, and two ghost shrimp to that tank.

And im ready for something bigger. But i really dont have much experience with these things. I have so many questions I'd rather ask first before buying a 20 gallon, than after. Whats the best (affordable) brands of 20 gallon tanks? What exactly is water cycling? I know starting a tank is a lot of work and money but I have both right now and I've always wanted to learn how to really (properly) take care of fish! Any tips/pointers for a newbie to larger tanks would be great!
:fish1::fish2::thanks:

20 gallons is actually a fairly restrictive tank size sadly. Have you thought about a 29g tank? That size opens up a ton of different fish species, has a nice foot print, and wouldn't be a big increase in expense.

Water cycling is the act of growing specific types of bacteria in your tank. Fish waste and decomposing food both create ammonia in a tank. The bad thing about this is that ammonia is HIGHLY toxic to fish. The good thing is that there is a bacteria that consumes ammonia and converts it into nitrite which is also toxic to fish. Finally, there is another bacteria that consumes the nitrite and converts it into nitrate which is far safer to fish.