Cleaning gravel help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DaruniaJones88

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So gravel cleaning....bought a gravel vac. It's on its way (I live in the middle of nowheresville). So I have a question/concern.

Are these gravel vacuums just super weak that they only suck up biowaste (poo, food remnants, etc) (and obviously water)? Or does the gravel go through as well and you just put it back in after it's clean?

Or is "vacuum" misleading in this case and it's just a pump?

Do I vacuum the gravel like you would carpet? Or stir up the gravel so all the biowaste starts floating and you suck THAT up or? Total fish noob here. Altho the fish I got are still alive so far. But then again they are local fish (and perfectly legal. I made sure I didn't get any fish that is "illegal" to own) so they are tougher than any farmed fish.

There’s many methods and theory’s behind gravel vacing, and a lot of it has to do with the type of substrate and if the tank is planted or not

Most gravel vacs or any that I’ve seen are not powerful enough to suck the gravel right up into the hose, I’ve heard they suck up sand but I’ve never had sand to try it on. Their main purpose is to lightly lift the gravel and ‘stir it up’ so it can suck up all the waste lodged in there and they all seem to do that fairly well

With a planted tank I only use the vac to suck up any heavier deposits on the substrate, especially those that are not near a plant. You typically don’t want to do any deep gravel vac near plants as you’re removing the potential nutrients (poop) that the plant could use.