Converting to Salt and Needing Advice and Opinions Please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

msumpter87

Aquarium Advice Activist
I have been keeping freshwater tanks for many years and now I am looking to find a new challenge in fishkeeping. Saltwater is something that I have always wanted to do and I am finally prepared to do it but I wish to take my time and do it right. I am going to start with a fish and live rock tank first and if I am successful I might move on to corals later on. But I am getting ahead of myself, currently I have a drilled 75 gallon tank with a full sump system. The pump I have to run this sump is a marineland maxi jet 4500. In its current configuration it will pump around 3-400 gph. I am also looking to buy a protein skimmer and I was looking at something like the marineland marine pro 100. I will be putting this in the sump. I also have a 250 watt heater and can add a powerhead if anybody thinks that might be a good idea. My first question will be does anybody see any problems with this configuration?? Like I said I want to do this right. Any and all advice is appreciated, I have never done salt but from the research I have done I think this might work. This tank is currently empty and will remain that way until I have everything in place. I have other questions but I want to get my basic setup out of the way first. Thanx in advance.

Hi msumpter. Sorry I don't have answers, but I am also looking to make the transition like yourself so i will be following this thread. Hope you don't mind if I chip in with my own questions along the way? Otherwise I will start my own thread. :)

if you have a drilled tank, sump and return pump you're ready to go with a FOWLR (fish only with live rock) I'm not sure about the return pump 3~400 gph may not be enough depending on your overflow