cycling biorb

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Amandap79

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
hello all. I'm hoping you can help. im a newbie who has ended up halfway through a cycle with three platys & six neons. made all the starter mistakes (thanks to the help in the pet shop & biorb instuctions). im so gutted I didn't know about fishless cycling.

im currently showing trace ammonia & very high nitrite (around 2} and was wondering how long before I can expect to see nitrate. I'm helping these poor fish with daily water changes (between 20 to 30%), limited feeding & water testing. is there anything else I can do? the tank is a 30 litre biorb life & has been running for three weeks with the fish.

which leads me to my next question. it states you should change the filter after six weeks. if I take this out (the sponge) will this take away some of the good bacteria? and if I don't change it, does the carbon / filter become affected. any biorb cycling advice would be greatly appreciated.

thank you so much.

Welcome to AA!

First, DON"T CHANGE THE FILTER lol. I hate that they put this on the packages (of course they want to make more money); if you throw away your filter media you throw away your bacteria and have to start all over. You shouldn't have to change filter media unless it's literally falling apart, and even then only change out some at a time.