Filtration options for 5.5-gallon betta tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Vincent

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm getting ready to set up a 5.5-gallon tank with a betta fish and am trying to decide between filtration options. I'm new to betta fish, but what I've read leads me to believe that I want filtration of about 2x3 times the aquarium's capacity. Does that sound reasonable?

I of course don't want anything that will take up a lot of interior space, and I don't want to get into modifying filters or pumps. So I've found two options so far that appeal to me:

1. Undergravel filter with something like an Aqua Clear 5 or Marina Cool air. I'll probably start with silk plants, so a UGF should work. My only concern is the gravel's resistance (I'll probably have about an inch of medium gravel). Would this setup result in the rate of filtration I should have for this aquarium?
  2. Tetra Whisper 3i - It's rated for 1 to 3-gallon aquariums (basically plastic betta kits), but it's GPH is in the range I'm looking for. Would it matter that my aquarium is a little bigger than what the filter is intended for?
  3. A small sponge filter, as long as it doesn't take a huge amount of space.
Are there any options I might be missing?

Thanks,
Vincent

Fluval fx 6.

Just kidding. lol. Tank that size could probably do an air powered sponge filter. There's videos on YouTube from a guy named King of DIY. He shows you how to make an extremely efficient moving bed filter with mechanical and biological filtration in a small water bottle.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I checked with Tetra, and they said the Whisper 3i would work for my application as long as I stay on top of water changes. I'll go with that.