First large tank (125 gal) many questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lynchmob

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello! I am a bit of a noob here...I used to own a bunch of fish in a little ten gallon tank I had back when I was in high school that I filled with some tetras, bala sharks, a pleco, and some other fish I got at my local Walmart. Looking back now I realize it was probably over filled, but the fish lived a long time until I went to boot camp and my family didn't care for them properly.

Anyway, I won my daughter a couple of comet goldfish at the carnival 3 weeks ago and taking care of them over the last few weeks has reminded me how much I enjoyed owning fish as a hobby. I did some research and realized my goldfish needed a much bigger tank, and my local Petsmart was having a big sale on a 125 gallon TopFin tank. The reviews on TopFin seem mixed but it has a lifetime warranty so I figured I didn't have much to lose. Since I wanted to have more than the two goldfish and I had read that a bigger tank is easier to maintain, I pulled the trigger and bought it. The only thing I don't like its the fluorescent lights...but the LED's at Petsmart seem ridiculous in price. Any ideas on a good place to buy some LEDs?

I have a lot of questions about the best way to cycle this new tank, fish compatibility, places to find stuff for initial setup, etc. To give you an idea of what I want- money isn't necessarily an issue. I don't want to spend a fortune on things I don't need but I am willing to buy whatever I need to make my life easier and the fish happier. My plan is to buy a single Fluval FX6 filter as I have heard great things and it seems idiot-proof. I will likely add something else to help circulate the water if it seems necessary when I get it filled up.