Fluval Spec V and Lighting

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

totalnoob

Aquarium Advice Regular
Good morning, everyone!

I am totally new to planted tanks, and I have a Fluval Spec V straight out of the box that I am cycling (I have since learned that cycling with plants is bad juju, but..they're in there already, so okay), and I was wondering about the light that comes stock.

I have been researching and I can't seem to find any definitive answers as to whether the light is good enough for low light, low tech plants. I have four anubias, and one java fern. My tall anubias is growing a new leaf, and yesterday I had to actually move two of the anubias closer to the substrate because they were getting transparent splotches in their leaves, so I figured they were up too high/too close to the light.

The plants seem to be okay so far, however I have only had the tank about two weeks. For long-term keeping, I am trying to figure out if I need to upgrade the light or not. I have seen people say "Omg, that light is complete crap, even my anubias won't grow" and I have seen people say "I've got anubias, java fern, java moss, <insert any other plant here> and they're thriving with the stock light!" I have seen a lot of people recommend the Finnex Fugeray 16" or 20" lights for this particular tank, and I have seen videos where they are definitely MUCH brighter - however I wonder if that light would then be too bright for the plants I currently have, and then I'd have to add vegetative cover or whathaveyou to keep the plants from burning up. Though I have also seen that the Fugeray lights are still "low" level lights, even being that much brighter...so...yep, I am utterly confused.