good buy for beginner?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

[ryan]

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
im new in the saltwater aquarium community and am looking to buy this set up from a friend:

55 gal all glass aquarium (no stand or hood)
wet dry filter with pump and bio balls
UV sterilizer
water test kit
heaters
coral
substrate

the tank was torn down about 6 months ago, but before that it was established for 10 years he claims. He has kept everything wet in the meantime. All that for $125. Think its worth it?

coral.jpg

aquarium.jpg

filter.jpg

what else will i need to get for this to be complete and i can start setting up? i know i need lights and a stand.

Hi Ryan...Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com! :smilecolros: :smilecolros: :smilecolros:
$125 for the equipment seems like a good deal. Do you know what type of lights the tank comes with? I am a bit leary of the "wet" suff. If it has been in the rubbermaid tub with no heat, water movement or water changes it may just be wet dead stuff. Let me know about the lighting set up it comes with and we can give more info.

he prob paid more than that just for the wet/dry :) what pump came with it ?
imo thats a good deal !

Good deal!

now you will need a decent stand and hood. lighing (prefrebly starting out with PC lights or MH lights.) $400 ish

A decent Protien Skimmer (aqua C Urchin is a good one for that size tank.) $160

A couple of decent PowerHeads. (2 maxi jet 1200's to start.) $60

You will need some argonite sand. $4-$75 (depending on if your home depot carries it or not. LOL.)

R/O water and a big bucket of salt. $40 ish