I kill PLecos........and I don't know why

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Minze

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Warning, this post managed to turn into a novel.....sorry about that.

OK, I have been keeping fish tanks on my own for about 10 years now. All my life I have been around fish tanks and developed a fondness for them. Anyway, in all my keeping of fish, I have never been able to keep a pleco alive. I've chalked it up to me being a pleco murderer.

For years I kept a 20 gal high tank. It was established, and I had not had a death in the tank for a while. There wasn't huge algae growth in the tank, but it was sufficient. In that tank I had an Bala Shark, African Dwarf Frog, 2 clown loaches, and an upside down catfish. I decided to get a pleco. It dies within 2 weeks. I got another and the same thing happened. I gave up on them then.

I moved a few months ago. I decided to move from the 20 gal to a 38 gal tank. I used the same gravel and water from the 20 gal and moved it to the 38 gal. I figured since the tank I had was well established (about 9 years) this would be the best way to go. I moved the 2 fish I had (one was the upside down catfish who was about 4 or 5 years old by now, and a blue gourami) over to the new tank. Unfortunately the upside down catfish didn't survive long in the new tank. Within a month he died. I decided to populate the tank slowly as to allow the biological filter to catch up with the fish that were being added. All in all, I ended up with what I have now. 4 blue gouramis, 2 albino tiger barbs, 2 small iridescent sharks, and 1 small catfish that I haven't been able to identify. He stays mostly hidden.