List of equipment for 29 gallon

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

virus

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey everyone i just created thism post in respose to my nano aube question, so i have a new one.

This cristmas i am getting a new 75 gallon and i want to convert my 29 gal into saltwater, a i am new with salt. I am planning on haveing a FOWLR aquarium and i wanted to get the list of equipment that i need so i can go ebay it lols. i have Sand already, plus heater and filter :twisted: so i think im doing pretty good so could anyone let me know all of the prices of the stuff, becasue im going to ebay it , and i also have a lotta patience. so prices like LR and stuff! i also would like to know any DIY for saltwater

What kind of sand do you already have?

You have the tank and stand aleady, which is good. You will also need a:

Hydrometer -$7-10.
Salt- $10-30 depending on size.
Test Kits - $20- $30.
Powerheads - $20 depending on kind.

LR can be expensive, and for sure will be your most expensive item. Alot of people order online, I get mine from my LFS. On average, I'd say good rock is anywhere from $4 to $8 a pound, and you would need around 35-40 pounds to be well stocked with rock.

ok i have a lfs that sells it for 2.50-3.50 a pound and i have home depot play sand that is washed, i thought i saw alot of things like Protien skimmers and sumps what about them? can i DIY them?

I just used a 10g under my 30. Matter of fact, I still use the 10g under my 65 (the 15g wouldn't fit). Skimmers are great if you can afford one but with a FOWLR it isn't as necessary. Just keep up on your water changes and you'll be fine. I agree with the 80%base 20%live theory. Worked well for my main so far.