My first 20 gallon freshwater!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SassyMiss

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi all, I'm new to this world of aquariums, but got involved because my six year old wanted a betta. I've learned so much about cycling, about bioloads, about inverts and clean up crews, and I decided to start reading in these forums to learn more.

well, I got a new-to-me 20 gallon regular (not long) tank. I re-homed the pleco and the goldfish (both monsters! previous owner was given wrong information by their LFS). Anyway, I cleaned the tank (no soap just vinegar and water solution), got a new filter (Fluval 50), put down flourite (I think, can't remember) substrate for the plants - I knew I wanted a planted tank. I did fishless cycling, seeded my tank with the betta filter (squished it in the new tank and poof! big cloud of white diffused throughout). I kept an eye on my water parameters (learned to buy the API Master test kit), put in plants and a raw shrimp (in a media bag) to kick it off. 3 weeks into it, my cycle was done - 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, 20 nitrates. I took my water to the LFS (actually two, to make sure) and both of them said it was cycled.

I didn't want to lose the bacteria, so I have put in 6 male guppys (turquoise and lyre tailed - 3 each) and two male red platys. I also have a small rubber nosed pleco, but I have since found out the LFS was incorrect, and it will grow to over 7 inches - which I DO not want).

What I'd like to ask is, can someone help me in deciding what else to stock? I'd like a mid to bottom dwelling schooling fish, and maybe some cory cats or the like. Also, I have black aquarium sand over the substrate and a piece of driftwood which I soaked forever in hot water before I put it in.

Thanks so much from an enthused newbie!!