My guppy looks funny...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hisc1ay

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I have a male guppy that is very beautiful, but he looks funny. From the back of his dorsal fin, it's like his body juts down. It's a very hard angle. Another one I have, I'm assuming his brother since my cousin gave me both of them and they're relatively the same size, has a smiliar problem, but he is more straight. The ladies look fine, and so does the other male that I bought last week (who is probably the coolest one I've seen ever). Has anyone had a similar problem? I know it's hard without a picture, but I will get one shortly. I'm going to borrow my dad's digicam and take one. I should have a pic by Saturday.

His tail was attacked by my danio, so it's in half now, but his body looked like that before anyway. :)

-j

I am by no means an expert on this, but I was reading "The New Aquarium Handbook" by Ines Scheaurmann

There is a section about bacterial and viral diseases and in there it refers to tuberculosis (TB).

Fish tuberculosis is the most common of all bacterial fish diseases. This form of TB is not infectious to people. Almost 80 percent of all aquarium fish carry latent TB infections. They are difficult to recognize because the symptoms vary from fish to fish. Also, parasites take hold of the weakened fish quickly and conceal the underlying cause. Poor filtration combined with overcrowding is a sure path to TB. Typical symptoms are weight loss, boddy ulcers, gill and fin deterioration, and even spinal and jaw deformation. Although TB cannot be cured, many fish recover from the over symptoms when the general environment is improved.

Maybe something to check into?

BUT please remember, this is only something I read and your post reminded me of it.

I hope this helps.