New to saltwater

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Forester

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi everyone I'm new to saltwater. I would like to change my 29g high into a saltwater tank. But have no idea how. I want to have some live coral but don't know what special things to do to take care of one. Thanks alot I will appreciate all the help. As I said I have no clue about saltwater tanks.

Well if we were to give you all the info you would be reading for hours lol. Just do research and ask questions afterward. There are too many things to cover. GL!!!!! :)

Two of the most important things is a refractometer and a liquid test kit to start a reef tank. Next will be the lights do you want softies, lps or sps?

Ro/di water. Most lfs have it salted. live sand I go about 2 inches deep. Live rock about 29 lbs... Protein skimmer is a must but that can wait a few weeks. And lights. Pick the corals u want now and before u buy them buy the light they need. And a test kit and Hydrometer.

It can be as simple as water rocks and sand and bi weekly water changes or it can get really complicated

My first sw was a 25g and it was $250 total. Monthly cost for food and water from the lfs $20. I now have a 75g that is $3500 and still growing in price. My monthly food is about 2 and I make my water. For lights I recomended led I have sps lps and soft all thriving under them they are more money up front but you won't need a chiller or a wind farm

im not sure on what type of coral but i would like an anemone. do you think this would be a good stock,
2 clownfish (pair)
3 spotted cardinalfish
1 firefish goby (pair)
3 yellowtail damselfish
1 spotted hawkfish
3 banded coral shrimp
3 dwarf blue leg hermit crabs
3 astraea turbo snail
1 emerald crab

im not sure on what type of coral but i would like an anemone. do you think this would be a good stock,
2 clownfish (pair)