Newbie help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Witt1121

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am brand new to the fish and aquarium community. Recently my boys wanted some fish and my wife and I said yes. Although I do not have "experience" I am quite efficient and diligent in reading and making sure I follow instructions. With that said I've found myself having some issues I'm hoping to get help on.

So here's my set-up and fish currently:

-Aqueon 15 gal column tank kit which includes QuietFlow 10 filter, heater and light
-White gravel from PetSmart
-1 large and 2 small plastic TopFin coral cave pieces from PetSmart
-1 large plastic plant kit (3 total)

And here's my fish:

-2 small Pictus Catfish
-3 small Red Wag Platy
-1 small Sunburst Platy
-1 smaller Black Molly
-1 smaller Dalmation Molly
-1 small Rubber Lip Plecostomus

A little history:

The tank was my sister and was given to my boys. We cleaned everything thoroughly before re-setting back up with water, no cleaners. The gravel and plastic coral were all cleaned under cold water prior to using. The tank sat cycling for 3 days prior to any fish being introduced using Aqueon water conditioner and APi Stress Zyme. The first batch was 6 fish being introduced and the 2nd batch was 3 more to complete our set-up.