Nitrogen cycle

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lola

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello, I am a beginner in aquariums and I have questions about the nitrogen cycle. My aquarium is 75 liters. There will be 4 male guppies and several easy-growing plants. My filter is a "Slim S20 marina, my substrate is" Flourite black "and the brand of my water heater is" Eheim "(150 watt) During the nitrogen cycle, do I have to make changes water (if yes, how often and how much?) do I have to turn on the heat, put some food flakes, remove the algae ...
also, do you have any other advice to give me? thank you :)

Depends on if you're doing a fish-in or a fishless cycle. Fishless is generally recommended. For that, no water changes are required since you want the ammonia to stay in the tank to feed the bacteria. I plant, personally, since the ammonia will feed the plants and, depending on what you're planting, the plants can hasten the cycle. Heater-- up to you. I don't think it affects the cycle, though I could be wrong. I generally put it in so I don't forget.

If you decide to go fish-in, yes you'll have to do water changes. How often depends on ammonia build up. You'd need your heater and plants in.

Fish-less is a lot easier on you and the fish, even if it's boring having an empty tank. My first tank, I was doing daily water changes on a 55g for a couple weeks. Next tank I set up, we did fishless.

Thank you :D I will do a fishless cycle. Do you know of aquarium plants that can speed up the cycle but grow easily or plants that guppies love?