Planted tank help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LauraFishwhiz

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all!

I am new to the world of freshwater tanks and need a little help! I have a 54 litre planted tank, i have not yet added any fish. I planted everything at the same time around 1 month ago now and I've noticed the bottom leaves of some of my plants have gone really see through, and/ or brown- I've attached some pics for reference!

I leave the light on around 8-10 hours per day and use both Aqua One plant food and Interpret flora boost. i did find a sneaky snail in the tank the other day which i swiftly removed as i thought he may have been nibbling on the plants.

Basically i think my plants look a little sad and i don't want to put fish in until they are healthy and settled. I'm going to do a 10% water change and clean up some algae thats grown on the sides of the tank but does anyone else have suggestions of what i can do?

Thank you

Attachments

• IMG_5303.jpg
    IMG_5303.jpg
    189.9 KB · Views: 48
  • IMG_5304.jpg
    IMG_5304.jpg
    238.1 KB · Views: 46
  • IMG_5322.jpg
    IMG_5322.jpg
    243.9 KB · Views: 52
Leaf melt is normal. Commercially grown plants are grown immersed not submerged, so arent used to being underwater. Some leafs will melt away, possibly you will lose all your leafs, but new growth will be tolerant to its new conditions.

If your tank is cycled, or your plan is to do a fish in cycle i would add your fish. Even though you are dosing ferts, they will be missing some nutrients that will come from your fish waste.

Thank you! i was quite worried as lots of leaves have been dying or looking less health since i planted but i guess i have to be patient and everything will be fine :) in your experience would you say cycling with fish is best then?