Planting a Tank??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ian14

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have a 120 gallon tank set up with just gravel as the substrate. I was wondering what I would have to do if I wanted to put in a live plant or two. Is there a way I can do it without getting other substrate to mix with the gravel? And if so what are some hardy plants that are good for the tank and fish? I am completely new at this!

First off what size of gravel are you using? Second what type of lighting and bulbs are on the tank. Lighting determines the type of plants you can successfully grow.

First off what size of gravel are you using? Second what type of lighting and bulbs are on the tank. Lighting determines the type of plants you can successfully grow.
I do not know exactly about the lighting. Just that it is marine land daylight fluorescent bulbs. It gets pretty bright I think. And the gravel is about medium iguess you can take a look at the two pictures.

Attachments

• image-2868592979.jpg
    image-2868592979.jpg
    137.6 KB · Views: 69
  • image-3085903179.jpg
    image-3085903179.jpg
    118.8 KB · Views: 82
Fluorescent bulbs are going to give you low lighting. So if you want to keep your current lighting I would suggest using Crypts, Swords, Jungle Val, Water Sprite or Wisteris (I prefer Water Sprite), and possibly Narrow leaf hydro (Hygro Corymbosa 'Siamensis') for planting in the substrate. The get a nice piece of DW or two and you can tie Anubia's, Java Ferns, and Bolbitus onto them to grow.