Poorly pleco.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lexy Lyes

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone I'm new to AA and fairly new to fish keeping. And so I have a couple of questions first of which is, what type of pleco is it? And secondly what's wrong with it?

Here's a few stats;
The tank is a 12 gallon.
Nitrate is 0
Nitrite is 0
GH is 16 ish
PH is 7.2
And it's 26 degrees Celsius

Thanks in advance for reading and here's a picture.

Attachments

• image-3013388498.jpg
    image-3013388498.jpg
    112.4 KB · Views: 97
whats your amonia reading? not to sure what type its hard to tell from the pic. what makes u think theres something wrong? also he will out groe a 12g...

It looks like a poorly colored common pleco. Those guys can get very large. Somewhere in the 18inch range. He will grow out of your tank very fast, and will probably need a 55 gallon tank before summer of next year.

I agree with the above statement. What is your ammonia reading? Also, what other fish do you have with this guy?

Did you buy him from a local fish store?

It looks like a poorly colored common pleco. Those guys can get very large. Somewhere in the 18inch range. He will grow out of your tank very fast, and will probably need a 55 gallon tank before summer of next year.

I agree with the above statement. What is your ammonia reading? Also, what other fish do you have with this guy?

Did you buy him from a local fish store?

Heya sorry late reply, the ammonia is 0. As for the pleco he was from a LFS and his tank mates are as follows.

6 x ray tetra
6 rosey barbs
2 swordtails (male and female)
2 clown loaches
2 bronze corys
1 guppie (waiting for new home- long story)
And of course the pleco himself.