Setting up a 3g bowl for my betta

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

khorshidbetta

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello! This is my first time posting to this thread.

I currently have two betta setups. One is a 5.5 gallon planted tank I've had for about 6 weeks. It has a filter and heater and is successfully cycled (I used Seachem Stability, which I think helped with that.) My betta Tera loves it. He is very active and loves the space to swim, and inspects everything!

My other betta, Khorshid, is currently in a 2.5 gallon tank with a heater. His tank is also pretty new. I tested the water yesterday and I do have issues with ammonia. I am using Prime and doing water changes every few days, but I'd like to get him in a healthy and stable environment as soon as possible.

I ordered a 3 gallon glass bowl online. Khorshid is a crowntail betta and not quite as active as Tera. I think 3 gallons is a good size for him. Also for aesthetic reasons in my home, I like to have a round setup, instead of two giant rectangular tanks facing each other. That is the main reason I'm going with a bowl for this second setup.

Anyway, I have been researching options for a filter and a heater for the new 3 gallon bowl. I have heard that with frequent water changes, a filter is not absolutely necessary in this case. I think I found a filter model that is suitable for a 3g bowl. But honestly, the main reason I want to avoid a filter is because it interferes with the creation of bubble nests. So my main question is if it is possible to have a cycled tank without a running a filter. I know the beneficial bacteria need a medium in which to grow. Can they find enough of that in the gravel and other items in the tank? Are there other reasons a filter is essential for cycling?