Setting up new Nano Cube 12g Deluxe - Need Help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Brian_Nano12g

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie and need some help. Due to the limited amount of room in my apartment, I opted to get a smaller tank (despite advice to start out with 20+ gallons). I've owned tropical fish in my youth but still considers myself a novice. Anyway, I've read in other forums that with adequate water changes and careful observation, people have successfully kept a pair of German Blue Rams (male & female) in a 12 gallon Marineland Elipse with some Neon Tetras.

I have a some questions that hopefully you can shed some light on:

1.) Can a pair of Rams be kept successfully in a 12 gallon Nano Cube?

2.) What hardy fish should be used to cycle the tank before the introduction of the Rams? Should I use products that help with expediting the cycling process (i.e. Cycle by Nutrafin)?

3.) Would I be able to add (1) one Dwarf Puffer and (1) one Dwarf African Frog and (5) Neon Tetras in the tank with them?

4.) Since I don't have the Nano Cube yet, I can't determine if there is a port in the back to add an air hose for an air-stone. From all the pics (which are mostly of marine setups) appear that no one sets up the Nanos with airs-tones. I personally like watching the fish interact with the bubbles. Anyone have experience with this?

Any help and tips would be greatly appreciated. I figure that the Nano Cube as with the Eclipse 12 have a 3-stage filtration system and should do an efficient job and keeping the water clean for these fish. Am I correct to assume this? I don't plan on setting this tank up with live plants. I want a really clean and simple setup. I will add a bunch of rocks, caves, and artificial plants for the Rams to hide in.

Any help will be appreciated :n00b:

Welcome to AA :)