Stocking fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

solo

Aquarium Advice Activist
I anyone knows how much fish can be in a 75 gallon tank I know one inch of fish per gallon of water but I'm lost in that area want a good stock of compatible fishes I'm new to saltwater hobby want do the right setup but only once I'm thinking of the ecosystem filtration what's the best protein skimmer to use in the sump I'm lost here with equipment to buy and advice from anyone who bin the saltwater hobby for a long time can help me on deciding and us a bow front tank good shape ok for a saltwater tank and reef

How many fish will depend on what kind of fish and setup you will have. Is this already running or are you in the setup process now.

1" of fish per gal is one of the freshwater rule of thumbs. For saltwater you will be pushing it at 1" per 3 gals. I would stop at 1"/5 gal added over time. If your filtration can handle that after 6 months then perhaps bump it up to 1"/3 gal.

Keep in mind that those rules are for the approximate amount of water in the tank, not the tank size. A 75g with live rock is not necessarily 75 gallons.

It'll definitely depend on the width of the fish too, and how much waste they produce. A Firefish can be about the same length as a b/w clown, but is thinner and makes less waste. So the 1"/ 5g isn't that great of a rule.

Thanks every one you all helping me out make feel good cause I'm new with saltwater hobby

List the fish you are thinking of getting and we'll help you fugure out how many will work in your your tank.

Yellow tang blue tang clownfish dwarf angel angel fish butterflyfish damsels

Like to make a nice community tank and is it true damsels eat corals

Butterfly fish eat coral. With the exception of the foxface. Blue tang gets too big. Damsels don't eat corral but are really mean and will terrorize your tank.