think I'm nearly ready for fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ap0ll0

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi,

So I was on another forum when I started out but it wasn't very active so I thought I'd come here. I have been fishless cycling my fluval 200 with an ex1200 filter with a load of donor media and managed to cycle it in just over a week, the nitrites were gone this morning. This is my first time keeping fish fyi

I changed about 60% of the water today, partly to make it easier to put the sand in. I did a whip round of nearly all my LFS' to check out their fish and picked up a couple of ornaments for the tank, and see where I could get some plants from. Tomorrow I'm going to put the lights on then go get plants and the rest of the decorations and a backdrop (I'm thinking just blue/grey crepe paper hung on the back initially)

There are a couple of questions I'd like to ask but first I'll just mention I do have a few more things so I think I have everything covered - I'm keeping the internal filter that came with it running, for its built in air bubbler, and also so I can use it in a hospital/quarantine tank as need, same for the heater but I also have got a hydor inline. I have test kit(s), prime, a couple of basic meds, basically all the bits and bobs you'd expect. So.

1. quarantine/hospital tank - I will get one prior to or at the same time as getting fish, but I'm assuming if I'm adding my first set then the main tank is effectively the quarantine tank, as I need to add them all at once to keep it fully cycled?

2. stocking plan: I intend most likely next weekend to add the following -

platys/swordtails
corys
boesmani rainbows