This may seem to be a dumb question but...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

razmataz1971

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm new at this. I would like to do a water change. All I know is I would have to take out some tank water and replace with new water. How do I do this if the new water has to come directly from the tap?

I have a 75 gal with 2 Angels, 2 Blue Rams, 2 Rainbowfish and 6 Dwarf Gouramis.

Reason why I'm doing this is I think we have Ich. One of the Rams looks like it has a small fuzz on it's eye (Kinda looks like he's blind) and one of the Angels has a tad bit of fuzz on a fin. I put in some Ich-X in. I don't have a QT tank set up and in the mist of doing that. They are all eating well.

You need to treat tap water to remove chlorine and chloramine. I use Tap Water Conditioner by Aquarium Pharmaceuticals. One drop per gallon. I treat the water in 5 gal sparkletts bottles, the heat it to match the tank temp.
It sounds like you have some type of fungus. Adding 1 tsp per gallon and raising the temp to 85 degrees cures many problems.Welcome to the forum.

Thanks for the advice. How long do I need to keep the water temp raised in the tank? As long as I treat the tank for the next 8-10 days?

I'd knock down the pH. Angels and Rams like mid 6 range. Maybe also research a product called 'Amazon Rain' to add to your tank. Makes Angels happy.

I don't recommend changing a stable pH. A stable pH is better than a perfect pH :D Unless you are trying to breed the fish, they will be fine (and as I found out, they may breed for you even if you don't want them to).