Total newbie planted tank - oooh, there's gonna be trouble

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

doublenerds

Aquarium Advice Regular
OK. So I cleaned my office a few weeks ago. Made some empty space on the top of a sturdy file cabinet. And had the brilliant idea to get a 29 gallon fish tank, without knowing a darn thing about aquariums or fish. Luckily, I didn't buy any fish before realizing how much of an education I needed!

I started a fishless cycle 2 weeks ago, but the more I read, the more I want to have a lovely planted tank. So now I am going to start over, and defy conventional wisdom with a totally beginner soil planted tank. I expect it to be a crashing disaster but a good learning experience, and I would love the critique and feedback of experienced plant people.

My overall goals:
  • planted tank with 2-3 malabar puffers and 3 otos
  • I don't want to spend a fortune on high tech, so I will be going low light and using Diana Walstad as my guide
  • Due to my fish choice, I will not be doing careful aquascaping but instead will be building a wild jungle with plenty of hiding places and environmental complexity
  • I want a carpet!

My 29 gallon tank:

img_1329488_0_8d544c72573a70d1dcf2321bc24689c2.jpg