Tetra safe start

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sparkie1728

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi i'm in the process of setting up a 60 ltr tropical fish tank.
Its been up and running for a week now with no fish, i have been advised to put some TETRA SAFE START in to get things going.
My Question is :
1: is it any good.
2: How much should i put in.
3: How much do i put in when adding new fish.

By the way i'm a newbie to the aquarium so my apologies for all the questions.

Thanks

Questions are what we're here for!

It's great that you don't have fish yet: it gives you a chance to do a fishless cycle. Tetra SafeStart isn't really proven to do anything in making your tank safe for fish, although it shouldn't hurt anything, either.

Here's what you'll need to get your tank ready for fishy friends:
1) a liquid reagent test kit, such as API Freshwater Master kit
2) pure ammonia, sometimes called "janitorial strength", with NO surfactants/soaps or perfumes! You can also use large amounts of fish food or raw shrimp, but this method is less predictable.

A heater helps, too. If you're planning on adding live plants, you can add them now; they can help with your cycle.

Once you're armed, read up on fishless cycling in the Articles section, and start researching what fish you'd like! :)

Thanks, i have got a heater and live plants already in the aquarium.
I just want to make sure i get the water right before i add some fish.
I think i'm only going to keep a few tetra's to start with.

Tetra SafeStart isn't really proven to do anything in making your tank safe for fish, although it shouldn't hurt anything, either.