Thinking Of Trying My Hand At A Micro Reef, On A tight Budget

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lt.

Aquarium Advice FINatic
So I'm in the final stages of my new 45 long freshwater. And I have NO SW experience. But, I'm thinking about the future, and it smells like salt. I have an old 5 gallon tank that I think would be fun to turn into a micro reef. So I'm gonna ask several questions:

-Will a small HOB be fine for filtration, It's like 10 gallon rated
-Will I need a protein skimmer?
-Will I need to do anything to my tap water (other then add salt) to make it ok for use, since its well water?
-Will I be able to use just the standard light that came with the tank? It's one of the color enhancing bulbs?
-Can I have any type of fish in it?
-Anemonies, or something that looks/is similar, can I have it in this tank?
-What will it cost?
-Did I miss anything?

I'll be doing my own research, but figure it couldn't hurt to start a thread.

Ok I'm gona try my best to shoot straight with you here because its obvious you've got alot of learning to do. Your on the right track with doing your research BEFORE you purchase any livestock as this is always the right thing to do.

Ill try my best to answer all your questions. First, yes the hang on back filter will be fine for filtration and in a small tank like 5 gallons you probably could rely on this for your water circulation as well. You will NOT need a protien skimmer. It's unnecessary in a tank as small as yours. Most of your filtration will be done through your live rock and live rock is 100% required. (Research this!)