Plants - beginner/low tech questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cassandra87

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi - I have a 20 gallon high community tank, and I'm new to fish. The tank contains 5 bloodfin tetra, 2 platys, and 2 amano shrimp. I might add a few more shrimp and another platy, but I plan on keeping stocking on the low end. I currently have a small red sword planted directly in the gravel (which is staying alive and growing slowly) some dwarf hairgrass (I think that's what it is, it's still alive but hasn't done much) and a banana plant that is unhappy. I'm fine with plants growing slowly, it keeps maintenance low. I have plastic plants in the background, and I'd like to replace them with live plants. I want to stay low tech, I don't want to mess with CO2 and I'd like to keep fertilizer to a minimum. My first thought was to pot up some live plants in aquaponics pots (with big holes for roots) filled with some sort of substrate (maybe fluval stratum?) I thought this might give the plants more nutrients than planting in the gravel directly. Is this reasonable, or is there a better way?

Thanks for your help!