Advice on setting up my 75gal

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

XimeD

Aquarium Advice Freak
So, I got a 20gal tank 3 months ago (so I am still a newbie) and now I am totally hooked and recently bought a used 75gal on craigslist.

Here's what I have:

-Acrylic 75gal tank 48'' x 15'' x 24'' (L x W x H)
-Stand and Canopy
-48'' fixture - this looks like a regular white fixture not an actual aquarium fixture (ie coralife)
-The fixture came with 2 40W tubes (a philips f40dx T12 daylight 6500K and a ge aquarium/plant tube f40PL/AQ T12 3100K)
-Aqueon 300W 15inch heater
-Rena xP3 canister filter (for up to 175gal, 350GPH)

I am planning on going for the natural look (plants and driftwood)
Things I want advice on:

1) Substrate - sand or gravel? I plan on having a fire eel in there and I have read mixed things about sand. I really like the look of caribsea sunset gold, anyone use this in a planted tank? Would some type of finer gravel be better than sand?

2)Any advice on the kind of drifwood? I am leaning towards malaysian (african is a little too pricey for me)

3)Lighting and plants - are the lights I have adequate for a planted tank as long as I dont keep any of the high light plants (I am at about 1wpg). I am planning on keeping vals, swords, anubias, java fern....the easy ones. Any other suggestion on which other plants be appropriate?

4)Stocking - One of the reasons I wanted a bigger tank is because I have 2 RTTF barbs, 2 giant danios and a common pleco in my 20gal (I lost my peacock eel today :cry:, it climbed/jumped out through my biowheel filter!!!!) and I will be moving those to the 75gal once it cycles. I definitely want a fire eel and if possible another peacock eel. Suggestions on what else I can get? I like bala sharks. Some pictus catfish? My husband says he likes exotic looking fish so any suggestions on these?