Cory catfish not schooling and some never come out

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Inessa

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone,
So I'm new to this all ? I have a 55 gal with nano schooling fish (neon tetras, celestial danios etc) and I had no bottom fish, and I wanted Corys , so I went to pet shop and bought 3 Corys that were left (I knew I need 6 of the same kind but I thought I'd come back and buy the rest , as they keep reordering them). At home 2 Corys started exploring and being active , 3rd hide away so I did not see it ever since . I thought maybe it's because the school is not big enough , but guess what, they did not have the same kind anymore in the pet store for few weeks so I used Google lens to determine which kind I already have and Google said it's Cory Agassizi, so ordered 3 more online , - which turned out to be similar looking , but different. Later the Petco manager said my 1st batch was Cory Punctatus. The new batch of 3 Agassizi had the same behavior problem - one fish is active, 2 disappeared and never showed up again (I have a heavily planted tank with lots of hideouts). So as for now, I see only 3 fish viable :2 Punctatus and 1 Agassizi swim together happily, eat and dig- whereabouts of the rest is unknown (they are not dead, all the tests are normal , plus I saw them sneaking around when I moved the rocks and everything to clean and make sure they are not dead). Will they ever find each other ? What happens to the Corys that never come out, are they gonna die of stress and loneliness ? Looking at how close these two kinds are, can I hope they will school together- or what should I do? (Adding 6 more , 3 of each kind - is not really an option because by now I already have 10 happy pandas too , so it's 16 Corys for 55 gal) it's been only a couple of weeks, but I'm worried so I would appreciate your advise. Than