DIY plants for a fraction of the cost

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

billberet

Aquarium Advice Freak
all my raw materials, i pick up plants at michaels, make sure to choose the plastic ones.
then what i do is cut out all the wire at the bottomof the plant, and what i am left with is many different lengths of plants that i can mix and match. I've been making them this way for about 20 years, so i figured i would share. After the finished product, i soak them in a bucket for a week as a final test, then it's off to the DT.

60421-albums9596-picture38573.jpg

add gravel to bottom of water bottle, it's just for weight
60421-albums9596-picture38570.jpg

add your silicone (aquarium safe)
60421-albums9596-picture38571.jpg

top it off with your current substrate, i have sand in my tanks so i use that
60421-albums9596-picture38572.jpg

here is my final product, i just finished this batch so i'm waiting 48 hrs to dry, then they go in bucket and soak for 7 days. if water is clear, off they go into the tank.

60421-albums9596-picture38574.jpg

just remember, NO WIRE.
if you get a plant with a wire, just cut it where the plastic seems firm, there is usually a little bulge, this is where the wire meets the plastic, quick snip and your done.

wire usually is at thebase of the plant, snip it then take all the branches off where the wire is located, you can use all those filler branches for any gaps you might have

then i put my plants in my QT for a few days to soak, there is no water discoloration so we are good to go, next they get added to DT.

60421-albums9596-picture38703.jpg

sure thing, i'm currently soaking them for 24 more hrs, i leave them in the 20 gal for a few days just to make sure, you can never be too careful.
If no water discoloration then it's off to the DT

i'll see about posting those pics up this weekend

*****edit******