Molly veggie & feeding options

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ponch

Aquarium Advice Freak
Doing a bit of reading on mollies since I am new to keeping them ( just over a. Month now) and have actually read they will eat vegetables if they are put in the tank. True?

What kind of veggies and how often?

What is the easiest way to feed veggies to a Molly?

Imagine a slice of cucumber or lettuce leaf clipped somehow to the tank wall? Trying to avoid having to stick whole arm in tank to get it out after a day or two.

I know they love algae too - mine are always scavenging the tank decor to pecking at any algae growth they see. If I leave one of the blinds open in my office a portion of the tank will get sunlight for a couple hours per day ... I've already noticed some growth on my faux log decoration/ fish cave.

What about algae wafers? Are those any good?

I have been feeding them tropical fish flakes. Any other suggestions / tips for optimum Molly nutrition? Thanks.

At one time I had a 55gal. tank set up as a Molly colony tank. I used a veggie clip with a suction cup on it. I got seaweed strips and cut it into 2 inch long strips and put the veggie clip with these strips right at the water line and the Mollies went crazy for it. It was a real feeding frenzy with the entire colony trying to tear apart the seaweed. The colony consisted of about 25 Mollies and when done the veggie clip was real easy to remove with it being right at the top water line.

NLS alage waffes... mine go crazy over. more so that cheap brands

I would say feed vegetables 2-3x a week.

zucchini, romaine lettuce, iceberg lettuce, spinach leaves, peas.. are great.

do a search on this site for "vegetables " and/or "feeding" you should find tons of information

MDChurch said: