Moving on up...I hope...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jamesriley

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am extremely new to this. We currently have a 5.5 gallon with two neon tetras and two guppies. We've learned a few lessons over the last 5 months that we have had this aquarium -- unfortunately losing a couple of fish along the way!

We recently were given (without any warning...) 4 african dwarf frogs. I know that having all of those fish and frogs in our small tank is too much, so I went out and got a 10 gallon tank.

Now....how to transfer/set up the 10 gallon? I did some reading on this forum but am still confused. Should I set up the 10 gallon using some of the water/gravel from the 5.5 gallon? If I do that, how long do I need to wait before I can transfer all of he fish and frogs? I am not quite clear on how long a tank needs to cycle and all of that...

I have API's Perfect Start 1 month supply kit -- is this helpful in setting up the 10 gallon tank?

I'd love some clear, specific directions. No detail too small as I really am new and the last thing I want to do is hurt these fish/frogs! TIA!

i have done a tank upgrade succesfully last year,what i did is i set up the new tank and fill it up with dechlorinated water about half way and transfer all the decoration,gravel and filter media and as much water as possible from the small tank to the big tank and top it up with dechlorinated water,if the filter from the small tank fits in the new tank you can run it together with the new filter it will help with the cycle a lot,you can transfer the fish as soon as the tank is ready but keep an eye on the water parameters (ammonia,nitrites and nitrates)...hope this helps.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice