Newbie question on filtration and other stuff

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bosco72

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello, I'm new to this and I'm setting up a 30 gallon habitat. I'm looking for all the advice I can get my hands on.

I have under gravel filters at the moment, but was looking to add additional filtering. But I'm not sure if I even need it?

The tank has nothing in it apart from under gravel filters, gravel, heater, and water (ph 7 at the moment).

I have only ever kept small (6/7 gallons) cold tanks, goldfish, fantails, dragon eyes, which are quite easy to maintain.

I am planning live planting, which i have never done. this will take some time and thought before I commit. The java fern has been popping up as a good starting point?

Also I would like to have schooling fish in there, but again I'm not sure of what and the amount.

I plan to document this from start to completion, and have started taking images and video of the whole process.

Any advice on any of the above would be greatly appreciated.

Idk if you have done this in your smaller tanks but from being on here I have learned the 1st step after having the tank and all is to cycle your tank. I'm doing it now with my 20 gallon. I am going to have a school of cherry barbs which I'm very excited about! Good luck with everything!

HI and welcome. There's a link below in my signature called: guide to starting a freshwater aquarium. It covers a lot of what you're asking about. Give it a read and then if you have any further questions let us know!