Plantable plants without C02?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BDawg90

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have a 10 gal. tank setup and I wanted to plant some live plants, are there any plants that I can put in that don't need a CO2 setup?

BDawg90 said:
I have a 10 gal. tank setup and I wanted to plant some live plants, are there any plants that I can put in that don't need a CO2 setup?

There's lots of plants you can have in your 10g, check out plantgeek.net for low light plants.

What kind of lighting do you have (watts, K factor, etc.) on your tank?

The_Desacrator said:
I have 3 anubias and 4 amazon swords in my 10 gallon. I dont use CO2, but I use fertilizer and I got a new bulb for both my tanks.

Sounds like you're already set. Plants are great IMO and all my tanks have them :).

I'm very new to this hobby, before my 10 gal, I had a 1 gal for my betta. I have two 15 watt bulbs and I heard somewhere that your supposed to have 2 watts per gal to grow. But then the lady at petco told me to just go for the plastic because the live plants are a pain. Are they really that hard to grow? Because I just don't like fake plants. And how would you use fertilizer.

There are some low light plants that aren't difficult to grow at all. My 20g has a Marineland LED light, and the plants I have in it are an amazon sword, two java ferns, a few corkscrew vals, and a bunch of wisteria, and all are doing relatively well. The wisteria is growing like a weed, and is a great background plant.

I bought some bulbs at Walmart and dropped them in my 10 gallon with no fertilizer or special lights and they grew like crazy. The red plant I have to trim weekly..

Attachments

• ForumRunner_20110412_112717.jpg
    ForumRunner_20110412_112717.jpg
    66.6 KB · Views: 79
  • ForumRunner_20110412_112829.jpg
    ForumRunner_20110412_112829.jpg
    70.1 KB · Views: 80