Undergravel filter help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rachelives

Aquarium Advice Activist
My uncle recently gave me a 10 gallon fish tank and he included an under gravel filter with it. Now, I have been researching undergravel filters on the Internet and I am not sure if I want to use it. I want to have a planted tank, but I have never done it before. Is this a good idea with an undergravel filter? What kind of substrate should I use? Should I use a substrate good for growing plants, like sand? Or gravel? Or should I use sand with gravel? If I only use gravel, how will the plants grow? My uncle recommended an Amazon sword plant, would that grow easily without sand-like substrate? And if I don't use an undergravel filter, what kind of substrate do I use? If I have an undergravel filter, should I use a regular filter as well? Sorry for all of the questions but I am new to this and need help! Thank you :)

Nothing wrong with an ug filter, truly. It does mean you -must- use gravel. Sand will negate the effectiveness of the filter. Rhizome plants like java ferns and the like can't have their root base fully covered or they'll die, but they usually stay in gravel fine (at least mine does).

If you prefer the look of sand, get a HOB or canister filter instead. I hope there will be recommendations for brands in further replies from other members. There's also Hamberg Mattenfilter which is more popular in Europe. Swiss Tropicals is the only supplier I know if in the US. I use a corner one in my 40B, Bpophoto uses two corner units in his 20L. Not necessary to run two, he wanted symmetry. ?

So many options, I know! Do a little picture searching for which appeals to your sense of aesthetics best. In the end, at a very basic level, they all serve the same function which is to move water and host beneficial bacteria.