Visi-Therm Delux Heater Cooking My Tank!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

smithw14

Aquarium Advice Regular
Help with Visi-Therm

HELP! I am getting to my breaking point dealing with Visi-Therm heaters for my 20g long community tank. The very serious issue is dealing with the heaters over-heating the tank. I have been troubleshooting and dealing with this problem for upwards of 4 months.

In my 20g long community tank, I purchased a 50w Visi-Therm deluxe heater (http://www.marineland.com/products/consumer/con_vtherm.asp). The water temperature in the tank without a heater remains in the 60-70* F range, and I am trying to raise and keep the temp between 76-78*F. I originally located the heater in an upright position in the middle of the tank, submerged with only the red dial breaking the surface of the water. I waited 15 minutes as the directions stated before plugging in the heater. I monitored the water temperature with 2 coral life digital thermometers, one located on the left side of the tank, one located on the right side of the tank. I plugged in the heater after that 15 minute wait, with the temperature set at 77*F. On it went – alright – it was working!