Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-14-2013, 05:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
10 gallon sump/refugium help

So right now I'm planing my sump I want you opinion on my sump plans. Let me finish them and I will post a pic.
__________________

__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 06:15 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
Ok so the widths inbetween each baffle is in the pic now hights.
Glass 1- 6 inches tall
Glass 2- 8 inches tall
Glass 3- 6 inches tall
Glass 4- 6 1/2 inches tall

Does this look ok? Idk if glass 3 and for are supposed to be even or not but you tell me what to do.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2626164118.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	162.7 KB
ID:	144286  
__________________

__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 06:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
Also if I should make them all taller.
__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 08:06 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
Any help
__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:18 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
Can Somone help
__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 03:23 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
manbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 916
looks almost the same as my 20 long sump but I took my baffle height up to 9"

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1642402845.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	158.1 KB
ID:	144885

you can see the turf scrubber I mentioned in the other thread hanging above the refugium
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1279083534.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	101.1 KB
ID:	144884   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1331690094.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	96.5 KB
ID:	144886  

__________________
manbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 04:11 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
Yea I just measured under my stand and it not wide enough 10 gallon it 10 inches wid my stand is only 9 so I have to take the back out then it will fit. But yea so that sump design will work? And also I need to keep the baffles low bc of when my pump is off and the water drains down.
__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 05:09 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
Will it be ok to tear my whole tank down but save the water and put all my live stock In the cooler I use for them then paint the tank and do a test run outside then set it all back up put the sand back in then the rock and then like an hour later put the livestock back in.
__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:23 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
Where do I get aquarium grade sylacone or will regular stuff work. Also I need some help with the GPHs if I'm using 1 inch PVC on my 29 gal. What return pump should I use?
__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:29 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
manbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 916
maybe a little stressful on the live stock, I've not painted a tank yet myself but I've read that most people end up doing like 2-3 coats of paint so you should factor that in, you could possibly speed up drying time with a hairdryer, when I picked up my saltwater set up from CL I had the livestock in a bucket with an air stone for a couple of hours an they were fine, so maybe put a heater in the cooler and something to help aerate or circulate the water and it should be ok as long as you keep a close eye on them
__________________
manbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:34 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
Ok I always put an airstone in there and I have my old hood with my power compacts on it that I put on top of it. What about the return pump size?
__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:37 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
manbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 916
remind me of the display tank size, but I think anywhere around 6-10 times the volume of the display tank is normal
__________________
manbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:40 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
It's a 29 gallon display. 10 gallon sump and I'm using 1 inch PVC for my overflow. It's not drilled it's the U shaped overflow with the check valve. Any return pumps in particular?
__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:43 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
manbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 916
I run quiet one brand pumps on two of my tanks with no issues and they do live up to their name
__________________
manbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:46 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
Ok. How many gph one should I get. I've been trying to figure this out myself and I cant.
__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:50 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
I was thinking about this pump. The 740 GPH pump would it be enough GPH for 1 inch PVC
__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 10:08 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
http://m.petco.com/product/116657/Hy...ater-Pump.aspx
__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 01:17 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
manbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 916
the pump sounds good, if the 1" is on the drain line it should be fine because the 740gph that they list is unrestricted flow add in the restrictions of your plumbing and the head loss of pumping back up to the tank you'll flow realisticly in the neighborhood of @ 550gph, I would also hard plumb the return line as I found I get much better flow from my pump than when I had it running with flexible hose
__________________
manbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 05:21 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
So I'll just use PVC straight off the pump. I get PVC for free anyway so it doesnt matter
__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 09:51 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
manbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 916
sounds good
__________________

__________________
manbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
10 gallon, refugium, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.